The index of western regions for the 2023 Livestock Deferral List has been released by Agriculture and Agri Food Canada.

The list includes 19 RMs in Manitoba, 98 in Saskatchewan, 56 in Alberta and 62 in British Columbia.

Manitoba RMs on the list include:

  • Portage la Prairie
  • Westlake-Gladstone
  • Dufferin
  • Grey
  • Lorne
  • Louise
  • Macdonald
  • Montcalm
  • Morris
  • Norfolk-Treherne
  • North Norfolk
  • Pembina
  • Rhineland
  • Roland
  • St. Laurent
  • Stanley
  • Thompson
  • Victoria
  • Woodlands

Producers who have to sell all or part of their breeding herd due to the drought or extreme moisture qualify for this tax deferral, as it allows them to shelve some of their income from sales to the following year.

In response to Canada's Online News Act and Meta (Facebook and Instagram) removing access to local news from their platforms, PortageOnline encourages you to get your news directly from your trusted source by bookmarking this page and downloading the PortageOnline app.