Two Portage la Prairie softball players at the University of Minnesota Crookston earned a Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) Myles Brand All-Academic with Distinction awards last month.

Madeleine Shwaluk and Paige Shwaluk have been awarded the honour, which is bestowed on NSIC academic senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or higher and named after the late NCAA President Dr. Myles Brand.

The NSIC will recognize the Shwaluks with certificates of achievement and wristwatches.

file photo

file photo

Dr. Myles N. Brand, visionary leader, educator, and reformer, served as the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) president from 2003 to 2009. He passed away in September 2009 at the age of 67 after a battle with pancreatic cancer. Brand changed the national dialogue on college sports to emphasize the educational value of athletic participation and integrating intercollegiate athletics with the academic mission of higher education. His impact on Division II ran deep by implementing an identity campaign and a strategic positioning platform tied to specific divisional attributes. He challenged Division II to continue its game environment and community engagement focus and improve its academic success rates. 

The NSIC is a 15-team, 18-sport, NCAA Division II conference with institutions in Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.