The Miniota/Elkhorn C-Hawks are back-to-back Tiger Hills Hockey League champions. Former Terrier Brad Bowles scored twice as his team shaded the Killarney Shamrocks 3-2 Saturday night at Tundra Oil & Gas Place in Virden. Taylor Sanheim, another Terrier alumni, also scored for the C-Hawks who took the best-of-five final three games to one. Jordan Robertson and Rylan Gudnason replied for the Shamrocks.

Killarney and Miniota/Elkhorn were the top two teams in the league this season and both finished with a 16-2 record. Other former Terriers on the C-Hawks roster include Shawn Bowles and Josh Martin.  The small community of Elkhorn in Western Manitoba (pop 461) has produced numerous key Terrier players over the past 10 seasons. Brad Bowles was the leading scorer in the Tiger Hills League this season and was the MVP of the National Championships held in Portage in 2015 when the Terriers won the title.

MacGregor, Gladstone, Neepawa, and Carberry are some of the other teams that compete in the 16-team league each year.

Miniota/Elkhorn will face the South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League champion Ste. Anne Aces in Hockey Manitoba’s Provincial Senior “A” Championship. The C-Hawks defeated the Aces two games to one in last year's Manitoba Cup final. The Aces also features several former Terriers like Brendan Walker, Yvan Pattyn, Tanner Harms, Brett Adnum and Andrew Lefebvre. Ste. Anne is also coached by former Terrier, and Yvan's brother, Stephane Pattyn.