While the Portage la Prairie City Council looks toward their election later this year,  some changes had to be made concerning the chairs of certain council-appointed committees.

Councilor Brent Budz says due to the resignation of Melissa Draycott and the passing of Wayne Wall, certain committees are left without chairs or co-chairs. He goes into detail about how they've been able to deal with these changes up until this point.

“It's been the councilors that have been pitching in and helping out where they can, but we had to formalize some reallocation of resources,” explains Budz. “It's really just to get to the municipal election this fall.”

He adds changes to special committees will also be made, as Councilor Sharilyn Knox will replace Draycott on the PRED Board and Wall on the Board of Revision, while Mayor Irvine Ferris will replace Wall on the Heritage Advisory Committee. Budz mentions that things should return to normal following the election.

“After the election, there'll be an organizational meeting that's called,” notes Budz. “The people on the council at that point in time will be assigned portfolios by the mayor, and we anticipate all portfolios will be complete.”

The Municipal Election is set for October 26.